icon-facebook   icon-twitter   icon-youtube   icon-instagram   icon-pinterest

Buy Classes Button 1

Fundamentals Level 1


This class is taught by:

Shelagh McElroy

Shelagh began her practice in 1996 to help alleviate career stress, and began teaching yoga full time in 2001. With a degree in psychology, she brings fun, acceptance, and a down-to-earth, humorous approach to her classes. She tailors her teaching approach in a way that both supports and challenges students.
 
 
 
She is a self-confessed anatomy geek and done extensive studies in Yoga for Scoliosis with Elise Browning-Miller, and international studies in yoga and anatomy with Gary Carter in London, and Peter Blackaby in Windsor, England and Toronto, Canada.

Susan A. Austin

Susan started her yoga practice in college, but after fulfilling that PE requirement, she stopped practicing. The seed, however, had been planted. Susan remained physically active as exercising helped relieve the stress of the practice of law, and litigation specifically. In a continuing effort to stay in shape and mitigate the inevitable signs of the relentless march of time, Susan discovered yoga again, but this time she was ready to really explore the practice.
 
 
 
Susan's analytical outlook and intellectual curiosity has helped her enjoy her practice and the teacher training at DYC. She continues to learn and better understand spiritual, mental, and physical health thru yoga. Susan has also found that, at least on the mat, the march of time is a little slower....

Kay Harris .

Kay loves to explore movement in all forms. She is an avid dancer of salsa and tango and she travels to South America regularly. While visiting Argentina many years ago she realized her calling was to integrate the fluid kinesthetic of Latin dance with the structured focused discipline of classical yoga. She has studied both the Iyengar method as well as Vinyasa Flow and she has graduated from the 200 hr Dallas Yoga Center teacher training program.

 

Kay’s classes create an energetic, playful and multi-disciplined experience that joyfully embraces the flow as well as the discipline required to obtain strength, openness, and flexibility.

Yoga is a basic art form. The key to safe and effective execution of yoga postures is a stage appropriate methodology. Learn the underlying fundamental actions and principles of poses and breath to get the most out of your practice. The use of props and modifications will also be taught. All levels welcome.
 
 

 


Upcoming classes:

  • Thu Jul 27 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Sat Jul 29 8:45 am - 9:55 am with Shelagh McElroy
  • Mon Jul 31 9:15 am - 10:30 am with Jack Percy
  • Thu Aug 03 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Sat Aug 05 8:45 am - 9:55 am with Susan A. Austin
  • Mon Aug 07 9:15 am - 10:30 am with Jack Percy
  • Thu Aug 10 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Susan A. Austin
  • Sat Aug 12 8:45 am - 9:55 am with Shelagh McElroy
  • Mon Aug 14 9:15 am - 10:30 am with Kay Harris .
  • Thu Aug 17 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Sat Aug 19 8:45 am - 9:55 am with Shelagh McElroy
  • Mon Aug 21 9:15 am - 10:30 am with Kay Harris .
  • Thu Aug 24 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Sat Aug 26 8:45 am - 9:55 am with Shelagh McElroy
  • Mon Aug 28 9:15 am - 10:30 am with Kay Harris .
  • Thu Aug 31 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Sat Sep 02 8:45 am - 9:55 am with Shelagh McElroy
  • Mon Sep 04 9:15 am - 10:30 am with Kay Harris .
  • Thu Sep 07 6:15 pm - 7:30 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Sat Sep 09 8:45 am - 9:55 am with Shelagh McElroy