icon-facebook   icon-twitter   icon-youtube   icon-instagram   icon-pinterest

Buy Classes Button 1

Therapeutic Yoga


This class is taught by:

Shelagh McElroy

Shelagh began her practice in 1996 to help alleviate career stress, and began teaching yoga full time in 2001. With a degree in psychology, she brings fun, acceptance, and a down-to-earth, humorous approach to her classes. She tailors her teaching approach in a way that both supports and challenges students.
 
She is a self-confessed anatomy geek and done extensive studies in Yoga for Scoliosis with Elise Browning-Miller, and international studies in yoga and anatomy with Gary Carter in London, and Peter Blackaby in Windsor, England and Toronto, Canada.
Allows students to re-educate movement patterns, as well as increase body intelligence & awareness. In this class modifications and props are used generously in order to target specific injuries or concerns. Poses are mostly passive with some core stabilization. The aim is to learn how to adapt and modify postures in order to best serve each individual. This class is recommended for those working to recover range of motion from prior injuries, learning how to intelligently re-engage after full recovery from surgery, and older students needing to modify their practice.

This series is appropriate for students who have been released from their doctor’s care and have completed physical therapy. Parameters for participation include: the ability to get up and down off the floor without assistance, freedom from medical devices, and no active disc issues. Students with joint replacements may need a private session prior to joining series to learn modifications specific to their replacement and range of motion.
Please feel free to email or call the front desk for additional information or questions regarding this class and to determine if private instruction, a session with one of our holistic practitioners, or a referral to a physician, is a more appropriate direction for your specific circumstances.


Upcoming classes:

  • Tue Feb 21 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Feb 22 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Feb 28 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Mar 01 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Mar 07 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Mar 08 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Mar 14 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Mar 15 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Mar 21 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Mar 22 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Mar 28 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Mar 29 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Apr 04 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Apr 05 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Apr 11 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Apr 12 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Apr 18 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Apr 19 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Apr 25 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Apr 26 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy