icon-facebook   icon-twitter   icon-youtube   icon-instagram   icon-pinterest

Buy Classes Button 1

Therapeutic Yoga


This class is taught by:

Cheryl King

Cheryl King first encountered yoga and meditation in the 1980’s as a college student. Studying Buddhism with Professor Frederick J Streng, she became fascinated with the philosophy, ritual, and beauty of the Buddhist meditation practice and made her first trip to Thailand for a cultural immersion upon graduation.
 
Cheryl’s teaching style is interdisciplinary with emphasis on gentle movement and anatomical alignment. She encourages students to find and sustain a moment-to-moment experience through the practice of yoga and meditation.
 

Cheryl brings a spirit of loving kindness to her own practice and her teaching. Her life’s work involves exploring and teaching connection to self and one another.

 

Cheryl received her RYT 200 Hr at Dallas Yoga Center.

Shelagh McElroy

Shelagh began her practice in 1996 to help alleviate career stress, and began teaching yoga full time in 2001. With a degree in psychology, she brings fun, acceptance, and a down-to-earth, humorous approach to her classes. She tailors her teaching approach in a way that both supports and challenges students.
 
 
 
She is a self-confessed anatomy geek and done extensive studies in Yoga for Scoliosis with Elise Browning-Miller, and international studies in yoga and anatomy with Gary Carter in London, and Peter Blackaby in Windsor, England and Toronto, Canada.
Allows students to re-educate movement patterns, as well as increase body intelligence & awareness. In this class modifications and props are used generously in order to target specific injuries or concerns. Poses are mostly passive with some core stabilization. The aim is to learn how to adapt and modify postures in order to best serve each individual. This class is recommended for those working to recover range of motion from prior injuries, learning how to intelligently re-engage after full recovery from surgery, and older students needing to modify their practice.

This series is appropriate for students who have been released from their doctor’s care and have completed physical therapy. Parameters for participation include: the ability to get up and down off the floor without assistance, freedom from medical devices, and no active disc issues. Students with joint replacements may need a private session prior to joining series to learn modifications specific to their replacement and range of motion.
Please feel free to email or call the front desk for additional information or questions regarding this class and to determine if private instruction, a session with one of our holistic practitioners, or a referral to a physician, is a more appropriate direction for your specific circumstances.


Upcoming classes:

  • Wed Jun 28 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Cheryl King
  • Tue Jul 04 12:00 pm - 1:15 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Jul 05 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Jul 11 12:00 pm - 1:15 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Jul 12 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Jul 18 12:00 pm - 1:15 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Jul 19 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Jul 25 12:00 pm - 1:15 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Jul 26 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Aug 01 12:00 pm - 1:15 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Aug 02 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Aug 08 12:00 pm - 1:15 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Aug 09 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Aug 15 12:00 pm - 1:15 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Aug 16 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Aug 22 12:00 pm - 1:15 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Aug 23 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Aug 29 12:00 pm - 1:15 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Wed Aug 30 12:00 pm - 1:00 pm with Shelagh McElroy
  • Tue Sep 05 12:00 pm - 1:15 pm with Shelagh McElroy